top of page
about us-01.png

What do we do?

TX Votes is a family of political nerds who love voting and pizza. This means we register thousands of students to vote and eat about a thousand slices of pizza in the process. As one of the leading nonpartisan voter engagement organizations on campus, we registered over 7,000 UT students to vote by visiting more than 350 classrooms, tabling, and hosting events like the Last Night to Register Celebration during the 2019-20 school year.


TX Votes is made up of students majoring in a wide array of degrees, like Biology, English, Computer Science, Government, and Political Communications. We are nonpartisan, so we will never tell you who or what to vote for, just that you should vote!



Zoe N..PNG

Zoe Nanson

Vice President

Aaron Lurin.png

Aaron Lurin

Chief VDR

Zoe Alvarez.jpg

Zoe Alvarez

CEA Chair

husain profile pic.jpg

Hussain Dhoon

Program Coordinator

Cole Wilson - Program Coordinator 2.png

Cole Wilson

Program Coordinator

Krista Gehlhausen - Program Coordinator

Krista Gehlhausen

Vice CEA Chair

tx votes clear.png

Nahiyan Khan


Luke Sumpter - Secretary.jpg

Luke Sumpter


Lucas Barr - Communications 1.jpg

Lucas Barr



riley mckinzie.png

Committee Chairs: Riley McKinzie

Junior Chair: Ansh Samdaria


The Research Committee is working to develop research that answers questions of what influences students to vote and what barriers stand in the way of student voters.


tx votes clear.png

Committee Chair: Rana Duan

Junior Chair: Scott Poole


The Events Committee is in charge of planning events for TX Votes, including events like the Last Night to Register to Vote Celebration, Election Night Watch Parties, Vote Early Day, socials for TX Votes members, and diverse and informative panels.


pavithra profile pic.jpg
tx votes clear.png

Committee Chair: Pavitra Kotecha

Junior Chair: 


The STEM Committee is committed to encouraging UT Austin STEM students, who have historically voted at lower rates than the rest of campus, to turn out to vote through voter registration activities and educational activities related to the intersection of political participation and STEM.


asha ayyar.jpg

Committee Chair: Asha Ayyar

Junior Chair: Johnathan Sicard


The Digital Committee works to reach students in a digital manner to ensure they know about elections and have access to important election information. They have worked on the Election Care Packages, designed and developed a new website for TX Votes, created an educational civics newsletter, and curated a multilingual voting video library.


tx votes clear.png

Committee Chair: 

The Nonpartisanship Committee is in charge of acting as a guiding council when issues of partisanship arise in the organization and when to help guide students when they aren't sure how to answer questions about partisanship.


Bella Costantini - Fundraising 1.jpg
tx votes clear.png

Committee Chairs: Bella Constantini


The Fundraising Committee is in charge of raising money for TX Votes through off and on-campus grants, Hornraiser, 40 for Forty, and t-shirt sales.


2019 Outstanding Student Organization Tower Award Recipient

2018 Voter Friendly Campus Designation

2017 Outstanding Student Organization Tower Award Recipient

2016 Voter Friendly Campus Designation

2016 ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge Bronze Seal Award

bottom of page